A dictionary for navigators on spiritual rough waters” chapter 4 (heavy but true)

The words of the Bible show us Who God is and how we may know Him and follow His will. Jesus said very clearly that only those who do God’s will will enter the Kingdom of God. Jesus told us that His words are life and spirit. The flesh profits nothing.

John 6:63 (ESV)It is the Spirit who gives life; the flesh is no help at all. The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and life.Here are some of the words which came in the spirit. As there are many precious words to choose from, this post has chosen to include what Jesus has said mainly. Enjoy your word journey today in the Spirit of Christ! (Note: today’s three words are heavy enough for anyone to meditate upon. )+++++++++++++++++

Sins: An unpleasant word. The most important word today when Christians around the world are remembering what Jesus had done on the cross. Only God can forgive sins. But God also wants Christians to forgive one another’s sins, even without limits! For those being forgiven this is the Good News. Sins link to life and death. It depends on whom you choose to believe. Beware, sins can be a master of slaves!

(ESV)Matthew 1:21 She will bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins.”Matthew 26:28 for this is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.Matthew 6:15 (NKJV) But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.Luke 17:3 Pay attention to yourselves! If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him, Luke 17:4 and if he sins against you seven times in the day, and turns to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ you must forgive him.” Luke 24:47 and that repentance and forgiveness of sins should be proclaimed in his name to all nations, beginning from Jerusalem. John 8:34 (NKJV) Jesus replied, “Very truly I tell you, everyone who sins is a slave to sin.John 8:24 I told you that you would die in your sins, for unless you believe that I am he you will die in your sins.”

consuming-fire

Torment: Another unpleasant word. The Scriptures reveal that torments are in fact carried out by the devil and his agents. At present hell is the place of torment. However, at the end time, torment will be given to those with the mark of the beast on earth, and finally to the devil himself and all his in the lake of burning sulfur. 

 (NIV)

Luke 16:23 In Hades, where he was in torment, he looked up and saw Abraham far away, with Lazarus by his side.  Luke 16:28 for I have five brothers. Let him warn them, so that they will not also come to this place of torment.’ Acts 5:16 Crowds gathered also from the towns around Jerusalem, bringing their sick and those tormented by impure spirits, and all of them were healed.  2 Corinthians 12:7 or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Revelation 14:11And the smoke of their torment will rise for ever and ever. There will be no rest day or night for those who worship the beast and its image, or for anyone who receives the mark of its name.” Revelation 20:10And the devil, who deceived them, was thrown into the lake of burning sulfur, where the beast and the false prophet had been thrown. They will be tormented day and night for ever and ever.

Unless: A tough and uncompromising word. Jesus spoke such powerful and absolute words. Unless you obey and act on His words, you will have no choice but be left to bear consequences which you will hate to bear. Read the seven letters Jesus addressed the churches in the book of Revelation. Unless they repent and overcome their other obedient acts will not save them from the terrible consequences Jesus has warned!

Note: Jesus Himself obeyed the law of heaven too while on earth. He went away so that the Holy Spirit could come

Matthew 5:20For I tell you that unless your righteousness surpasses that of the Pharisees and the teachers of the law, you will certainly not enter the kingdom of heaven.Matthew 18:3And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Matthew 18:35“This is how my heavenly Father will treat each of you unless you forgive your brother or sister from your heart.” Luke 13:3 I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will all perish. Luke 13:5 I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will all perish.” John 3:3 Jesus replied, “Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.” John 3:5 Jesus answered, “Very truly I tell you, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless they are born of water and the Spirit.John 6:53 Jesus said to them, “Very truly I tell you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. John 13:8 “No,” said Peter, “you shall never wash my feet.” Jesus answered, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.” John 15:4 Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. John 16:7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you. (Note: the Advocate refers to the Holy Spirit)

share your thoughts here

