A dictionary for navigators on spiritual rough waters: chapter 5 voice

watch and pray

watch and pray

Again, words kept coming out and all are important. The only way to choose for this miniature dictionary is to take whatever that come first and meditate on them Here are words that came forth at this time.

Voice: This can be very important or it can be of no significance. The source of the voice makes it important and relevant or otherwise. In the Bible, One Voice is of utmost importance. All who have ears must hear and act upon it. God’s Voice. It can be a life and death issue. When God says hear My Voice, we better pay attention! So how do we hear God’s voice? Read the words of God. He speaks through them. The Holy Spirit will guide you into all truth and give you understanding. You will know exactly what He is speaking to you about a particular issue. Either you obey or disobey. There are consequences for your choice. The voice of God is not what any human can choose to ignore. It is worthwhile to listen and obey as evident below.

Revelation 3:20

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.

John 10:16

And other sheep I have which are not of this fold; them also I must bring, and they will hear My voice; and there will be one flock and one shepherd.

John 10:27

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.

Matthew 3:17

And suddenly a voice came from heaven, saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.”

Matthew 17:5

While he was still speaking, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them; and suddenly a voice came out of the cloud, saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased. Hear Him!” 

Jeremiah 7:23

But this is what I commanded them, saying, ‘Obey My voice, and I will be your God, and you shall be My people. And walk in all the ways that I have commanded you, that it may be well with you.’ 

Genesis 22:18

In your seed all the nations of the earth shall be blessed, because you have obeyed My voice.”

Genesis 26:5

because Abraham obeyed My voice and kept My charge, My commandments, My statutes, and My laws.” 

Exodus 19:5

Now therefore, if you will indeed obey My voice and keep My covenant, then you shall be a special treasure to Me above all people; for all the earth is Mine.

__________________________________

Wait: this word can be purposeful when one waits for the arrival of someone or something worth waiting for. Otherwise one is just loitering without knowing what better things to do. The waiting Jesus commanded is of utmost importance. It is not optional. Either we wait or we perish. Biblical waiting is by faith and not by sight. We wait without seeing, yet we obey the command of the Lord to wait! The eventual reward will be great! The difference between whether one gets the final heaven citizenship is whether one is serious with what Jesus has said about waiting. Waiting must be with eagerness, perseverance, for the right goal – the Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.

Luke 12:36

and you yourselves be like men who wait for their master, when he will return from the wedding, that when he comes and knocks they may open to him immediately.

Romans 8:25

But if we hope for what we do not see, we eagerly wait for it with perseverance.

Galatians 5:5

For we through the Spirit eagerly wait for the hope of righteousness by faith.

Philippians 3:20

For our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for the Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ,

1 Thessalonians 1:10

and to wait for His Son from heaven, whom He raised from the dead, even Jesus who delivers us from the wrath to come.

Hebrews 9:28

so Christ was offered once to bear the sins of many. To those who eagerly wait for Him He will appear a second time, apart from sin, for salvation.

_________________________________

Watching and praying come hand in hand with Biblical waiting: Jesus thus commanded His disciples,

Luke 21:36

Watch therefore, and pray always that you may be counted worthy to escape all these things that will come to pass, and to stand before the Son of Man.”

share your thoughts here

