Notes: All about Christian Spiritual songs

Another intercessor remarked recently that only when one has experienced pain, hurt and suffering in life, can one sing spiritual songs in such depth and beauty.

I agree. I have felt that too when I sing spiritual songs. Although I do not know what I sing my spirit can feel the pain or hurt or grief of the songs. I know whether it is a happy song, a worship song, a petition song, a marching song, an urgent song, or a slow moving gentle song.

My spirit man knows and I can feel the emotion, mood and even movement in the songs.

The songs are sometimes like fire. Sometimes they are like rain. Often they are like wind: strong wind, gentle breeze, refreshing wind, wind of sweeping and cleansing power and so on.

I like the songs like love. Such compassion and kindness from the Holy Spirit (the Comforter) telling me the Father’s love from heaven.

I also enjoy the songs like cooling waters, living and bubbly.

From the languages and musical tunes of the songs I know whether I am singing a western song or an eastern song. Sometimes they sound like Japanese or Chinese. Sometimes Indian or some tribal languages from Africa or south America.

Often they are like Portuguese or Spanish. A very common one sounds like Indonesian.

O yes, I do sing like the children of Israel. One day I was interested about what I was singing as it sounded like middle-eastern language. So I did a search and found that the way of singing and music between Israel and other middle-eastern people are actually quite close!

My regular songs sound like Irish songs. I did not know until one day I recorded some and a child visitor asked me why I was singing Irish songs!

When do they come? I have no fixed time or pattern. They come at any time my spirit is aligned with the Lord Jesus. We all have the Spirit of Christ. Otherwise we do not belong to Him. When my spirit is joined to the Lord’s Spirit, the songs come. Then I sing them naturally and effortlessly.

Sometimes I am led to exercise on the indoor bike as I sing.

When I drive a car and travel far I sing too. The songs just flow as I pray that the Lord brings me and my journey into a spiritual highway, apart from the physical traffic. It is a privilege for all sons of God, being led by the Spirit of God.

Sometimes I sing as I type, like I am doing now. What does the now song sound like? I ask myself.

What was I thinking just now before I started typing this blog? I was actually sort of lamenting over a separation from the past, from what I still love and treasure. Then I started typing this little article to talk about my songs. So the now song is a comforting song.

The song talks about feelings and a sense of loss and grief. Yet it rises and lifts up. My spirit does not end at a sad note. Even when tears were stuck at my throat for a fleeting moment the power of the Comforter reaches my soul and lifts me up.

When one sings in the spirit one is baring one’s soul to the Father in heaven. Not that He needs our baring our souls in order to see into our hearts, it’s just that as we know we are baring our souls to Him, we are assured of His closeness (as in James 4:8, “Come close to God and God will come close to you”). Singing spirit songs is like a therapy for our souls. Our spirit rejoices when we receive the same closeness as our spirit receives when joined to the Lord and be one spirit with Him. ( 1Corinthians 6:17)

Rejoice! I say again, give thanks, rejoice, o watchman!

Ephesians 5:18-20

“…Instead, be filled with the Holy Spirit, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs among yourselves, and making music to the Lord in your hearts. And give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

On Higher Ground

On Higher Ground

share your thoughts here

