spiritual traveler’s confession: walking free

walk in the light of Godspiritual journey

This traveler decided to live with one of the poorest people groups for awhile. One finding is there is relevance in the following words of wisdom today which is the 30th of June. The verse are taken from Proverbs 30:5-9 in two translations. There is a heavenly allotment of this world’s goods for each of us on earth. I find that even though I may have plenty if I had wanted to, I could not possibly use or consume all. I would have wasted the surplus precious resources for no purpose except to gratify my eyes and a false sense of self-esteem. So I have practiced a just-enough lifestyle for years and really enjoyed my liberated life. I have reduced excessive harmful weight and increased sharpness and discernment in my mental faculty. I look at life in a different and much wider and deeper perspective walking this life’s journey in a new freedom. My body and my soul become youthful and ageless. I can pursue spiritual reality more accurately. Living free of excesses is a blessing. It takes self-will and self-control. I could not have done it consistently by myself. thank God I have very good friends who have made the same decisions and we have walked this new life journey together cheering and encouraging each other. It’s a wonderful life!

The following verses reveal that the purpose of everyone’s life is to give glory to God.

Traveler’s observation: Take note the link between richness and pride (to the extent of denying God’s reality in one’s life) and poverty (to the extent that stealing becomes a norm in life). Both cases do not honor or glorify God. Any other explanation or excuse become a lie. A life of lies and deceptions is not worth living for. (Revelation 22:15)

Proverbs 30:5-9 (NLT)

Every word of God proves true.
    He is a shield to all who come to him for protection.
Do not add to his words,
    or he may rebuke you and expose you as a liar.

O God, I beg two favors from you;
    let me have them before I die.
First, help me never to tell a lie.
    Second, give me neither poverty nor riches!
    Give me just enough to satisfy my needs.
For if I grow rich, I may deny you and say, “Who is the Lord?”
    And if I am too poor, I may steal and thus insult God’s holy name.

Proverbs 30:5-9 (NKJV)

Every word of God is pure;
He is a shield to those who put their trust in Him.
Do not add to His words,
Lest He rebuke you, and you be found a liar.

Two things I request of You
(Deprive me not before I die):
Remove falsehood and lies far from me;
Give me neither poverty nor riches
Feed me with the food allotted to me;
Lest I be full and deny You,
And say, “Who is the Lord?”
Or lest I be poor and steal,
And profane the name of my God.

share your thoughts here

