An eagle soars: three haiku (original)

an eagle soars 2 an eagle soarsTraveler turns around
Pursuing the still small voice
Look, an eagle soars.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wherefore he comes round
Stirring waves of rushing sound
Cloud to cloud ahoy.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Swift as light he glides
Azure coast to coast he dives
Leaving jet behind.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reading some wise words from several Nobel Literature Laureates, I list these below to remind myself during my momentary attempts at haiku, often after taking an interesting picture.

Genuine poetry can communicate before it is understood. (T. S. Eliot)
Literature is a state of culture, poetry is a state of grace. (Juan Ramon)
I don’t think poetry comes from an education…I think that it comes from God. (Joseph Brodsky)
The experience of a poem is the experience both of a moment and of a lifetime. (T. S. Eliot)
I do not go in search of poetry. I wait for poetry to visit me. (Eugenio Montale)

share your thoughts here

