the last thing on my mind: a haiku and an old song

last thing on my mind

Dawn travel alone

speeding without aim forlorn

Song full of thorns

~~~~~~~~~~a song sung softly and innocently sometimes brings back wistful thoughts of old dreams and what might have been. Here is one which belongs to our parents or older siblings’ yesteryears.

“The Last Thing On My Mind”

It’s a lesson too late for the learning,
Made of sand, made of sand.
In the wink of an eye my soul is turning
In your hand, in your hand.

Are you going away with no word of farewell,
Will there be not a trace left behind?
I could have loved you better, didn’t mean to be unkind.
You know that was the last thing on my mind.

You’ve got reasons a-plenty for going—
This I know, this I know—
For the weeds have been steadily growing.
Please don’t go, please don’t go.

Are you going away with no word of farewell,
Will there be not a trace left behind?
I could have loved you better, didn’t mean to be unkind.
You know that was the last thing on my mind.

As I lie in my bed in the morning
Without you, without you,
Each song in my breast dies a-borning
Without you, without you.

Are you going away with no word of farewell,
Will there be not a trace left behind?
I could have loved you better, didn’t mean to be unkind.
You know that was the last thing on my mind.the last thing

“The Last Thing on My Mind” is a song written by American musician and singer-songwriter Tom Paxton in the early 1960s and recorded first by Paxton in 1964. To many of us this is really a very very old song. But it sounds good even today. I have found a version by the Australian group, The Seekers (“https://youtu.be/DtyHvjTJK1E”) who sing simple songs like this and sounds good. The Seekers are an Australian folk-influenced pop quartet, originally formed in Melbourne in 1962. They were the first Australian pop music group to achieve major chart and sales success in the United Kingdom and the United States. I found this other song they are famous for, “I’ll never find another you“,(“https://youtu.be/4Ga9Bs4fzSY”) charting 15,512,491 YouTube viewers just now. Good old wholesome country songs, like the soothing morning breeze that gently visits my garden saying a shy “Hello”.

share your thoughts here

