details of my life (fiction)

Details
names4 (1)names4 (2)Some years ago while jogging along the lakeside, I looked up and suddenly found that the world had lost its colours. Closing my eyes I then reopened them and found that truly the colours had gone. There was no more differentiation of the living things around me by colours. The trees and grass lost their green. The sky lost its blue. The clouds lost their white. The water lost its turquoise. The ground lost its yellow and brown. The flowers lost their pink. It was like a dream painted with shades of grey. I was transported into a monochrome realm. I continued to walk slowly and looked at the changed world around me. There were no people. Even the birds were gone. Did I lose my own perception of colours or did I accidentally enter a portal to another world? I never knew. I sat down under some trees and closed my eyes again and waited. I could sense colours returning with burst of sunlight and sounds of happy children around. When I opened my eyes again my colorful world had returned.

The experience made me really think about life. My life. How I have taken for granted the things around me. The colours. The beauty. The masterpiece of creation. My eyes. My perception. I shall never forget.
(Note: I took those names of some shops at random. Tried out their combination with a fish taken from an aquarium. Edited.)

2 thoughts on “details of my life (fiction)

share your thoughts here

