am i not rare? a sidewalk flower asks

Rare
rare purpleYes, you are rare. In my eyes. Today, I walk pass this way without expecting to see you. I am just walking and not looking. I am busy because I am going somewhere. This pathway and roadside are just things I happen to walk by from one spot to another spot. My destination is somewhere else. My interest is not here. I am just traveling by. But I see you. You look at me and smile. You reach out your invisible hand and offer a friendly greeting. Here, this neighborhood? Yes, you stand out despite the environment. The background. The class in which you find yourself. You display your purple. We exchange greeting for a while and I halt my steps for you for awhile. When I move on I know I have encountered a unique rarity. A simple greeting one morning between a traveler and a sidewalk on which I have imprinted my steps one morning which will not be repeated again. The next time I visit this place again it will be another time. A moment in time is rare and unique with its own existence.

6 thoughts on “am i not rare? a sidewalk flower asks

  1. Sometimes people walk past simple, everyday things such as wildflowers, trees, and rocks without looking at them. To stop and actually look around you is a rare but beautiful thing. I’m glad you interpreted the prompt this way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

share your thoughts here

