old friends framed in time together

old friends copy
Old Friends.

A picture on the wall of a mining museum. A man and his dog. From the background it appears they sat for this portrait in the artist’s studio. How long had they been patiently sitting together in this posture? How many sessions? Perhaps not too long. In real life how long had they been friends? I recall two faithful dogs (our longstanding family friends) we used to have as kids. They were mother and son, the son lived about fifteen years, the mother lived eighteen years. They accompanied us growing up. After they were gone, I do not remember my parents keeping another dog.

7 thoughts on “old friends framed in time together

    1. I believe this was taken when I visited the Nevada State Museum at Carson City in January 2016. I cannot recall the name of the artist now. But this is also one of my favorites. I like the hat too. The initials could be “ARTIST” with the first letter missing. You are probably right!

      Like

share your thoughts here

